How I Got Here & My Favorite Food: Pizza

I should probably start out by saying welcome to my blog! I have been wanting to start a food blog for a few weeks, but wasn’t sure where to start. First, I am not a writer, I went to school for Math Education. Second, I have no idea what my first post should be about. After thinking about it for awhile, I realized I should just start with how I got here and my favorite food of all time.

So here is my story:

2013 started out as a no good, very bad year. I found myself unexpectedly single, which led to me moving out of my apartment and back in with Mom & Dad, and unemployed. I was lost wandering. Suddenly all my plans were thrown out the window and I felt like I had no direction for my life. Luckily my parents are amazing and let me take some ‘me’ time to figure out what came next. Needless to say, I became very bored sitting at home all day feeling sorry for myself. To make the time pass, I started doing housework. It began as simple laundry, which led into grocery shopping, which led to cooking dinner. I had no idea at the time that a simple task would turn into something I actually enjoyed doing. Fast forward about five months and I now cook dinner about five nights a week for my parents and younger brother. The first time I referred to food that I cooked as my food, I knew it had become a passion. 

And here is my food: PIZZA

If you went to college with me, you have heard me claim that I could eat pizza for every meal, every day of my life. I actually believe this to be true. I LOVE PIZZA. Pizza was probably the first thing I actually cooked and enjoyed doing it. It started out basic, with store made pizza dough, pasta sauce, and mozzarella. I’ve been improving it ever since and the latest pizza I made is the best one yet, which also makes it the best choice for my first post. 

For this pizza, I made it on the grill. (Actually my sous chef, Dad, did all the grilling, but I did mostly everything else!) I like giving my family the option of making their own pizzas, since we all like different toppings and using the Naan worked out great for this. Everyone got one piece and could be topped however they wanted. Here is the process:

  1. Get all the topping ready. I used sauteed red onion, red bell pepper, & mushrooms, black olives, pepperoni, and mozzarella.
  2. Olive Oil one side of the Naan, then grill that side.
  3. Olive Oil the second side, then set aside, none grilled side down. 
  4. Top grilled side with marinara sauce, cheese, and toppings.
  5. Return to grill until cheese is melted and Naan is crispy.

This is one of the easiest meals I make. The most time consuming part is sauteing everything separately. The pizzas tasted delicious on the Naan and my family was happy because they got to pick their own ingredients. 

Here’s what they looked like once everyone topped their own.Image

Here’s the final product.
Image

Overall, these were definitely a hit. I think I will be making these a lot this summer when its too hot to cook inside.

 

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

