Dreams & Cripsy-Chewy Salted White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Dreams are the strangest things. I wish I could look inside my head and figure out why I have the dreams that I have. I’ve always had crazy, vivid, realistic dreams. They were so weird, I actually had a dream journal once where I could write down what happened as soon as I woke up. As long as I replay the dream once I’m awake I can usually remember them in detail. I’ve never had reoccurring dreams though, that is, until the past few months. Its not exactly a reoccurring dream because the setting and most of the people are different, but its always the same situation. I won’t go into detail except to say its always the one person I do not want to be dreaming about and I always wake up in a sad/annoyed/mad/frustrated mood. The only upside to this is that when I’m in said mood, I bake.

I originally was going to bake brownies because I thought I had all the ingredients for them. Then I discovered that I was out of vanilla extract. Since I had to go to the store anyway, I decided to bake something more interesting. I’ve made these Crispy-Chewy Salted White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies once before, for my trip to Florida last August. They were delicious! The original recipe comes from Smitten Kitchen, but I followed the directions from Clockwork Lemon.

The first time I made the cookies I did not freeze them before baking. They came out a little more crispy than chewy. Since I wanted them more chewy, I put them in the freezer this time. Although it did help, I think I made them too big. The directions say to make them 2 tbsp and you should get about 24 cookies. Well I only got 16 cookies. Next time I make these I’m going to make them smaller. I didn’t have a white chocolate bar or sea salt, but I did have white chocolate chips and flaky kosher salt so I used that instead.

 

Image

Image

Image

Although they didn’t come out as plump and chewy as I would have liked, they are still delicious! With just a hint of salt they satisfy my salt tooth as well as my sweet tooth. The outsides have the perfect crunch and the insides are a little chewy. This is a recipe that I will be returning to until I can make them perfect.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Dreams & Cripsy-Chewy Salted White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

