Puppies & Mac and Cheese

Image

Isn’t he the cutest?! Part black lab, part old english bulldog.

I’ve been in Oswego for the past couple days visiting friends from college so I haven’t been cooking. What I have been doing though is searching for a puppy. I spent an entire day with my friends puppy hunting. Although the day was a big fail, I am now determined to get a puppy. I need one. Its probably better that I did not get one this weekend since I am leaving for Chicago on Wednesday, but the hunt will continue once I get back.

Since we are leaving for Chicago soon, my mom suggested we try to use the food we have in the fridge so we won’t have to throw it out. One thing we have an abundance of is cheese. Seriously, we had an unnecessary amount of cheese. Because of this, I decided to make Mac & Cheese. We also had an unnecessary amount of broccoli so I decided to throw that in too.

Image

 

First I cup up all the broccoli. I ended up with a little more than five cups using one big and one small head of broccoli. While I did this I started the water boiling, then added the pasta. Since I’m trying to use up what we had at the house, I used 16 oz of Ditalini Rigati. It says its a soup pasta, but since I didn’t have actual macaroni noodles it was going to have to do.

Image

 

Then make a roux by melting butter and adding the equal amount of flour. I used 1/4 cup of each.

Image

 

Next add milk (3 cups) and whisk out any clumps. Add whatever kind of cheese you want. Like I said, we had an unnecessary amount of cheese so I used american, white cheddar, and jalapeno cheeses. I honestly lost track of how much cheese I used, since I wanted to use up as much as possible I just kept adding it in until I was happy with the thickness.

Image

 

Take the sauce cheese sauce off the heat and add the noddles, then the broccoli. Mix it well so the cheese coats everything. Then put it into a baking dish. I remembered that I had left over bacon bits so I topped the Mac & Cheese with bacon, bread crumbs, and more shredded cheese.

Image

Image

 

Bake, uncovered at 375 for about 30 minutes. Then enjoy! 

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz Ditalini Rigati
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3 cups milk
  • Cheese, and lots of it
  • Broccoli, about 5 cups
  • Sprinkle of bacon bits
  • Sprinkle of bread crumbs

Directions:

Boil water and cook pasta. While pasta is cooking, make cheese sauce. Melt butter, then add flour. Whisk in milk to remove clumps. Add shredded cheese. Whisk until you reach desired consistency. Remove sauce from heat and add pasta, then broccoli. Mix until well incorporated. Spread into baking dish. Sprinkle with bacon bits, bread crumbs, and more shredded cheese. Bake uncovered at 375 for 20-30 minutes.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

