Packing & Fajitas

Tomorrow after work I am off to Chicago for my cousin’s wedding. I am so excited because I love weddings and because I’ve never been to Chicago.What I was not so excited about was packing. I am not a great packer –  I always over pack and end up with nothing to wear. Since my entire family coming to this wedding is coming from out of town there are a good amount of events set up for us, which did make packing a little bit easier. I’d much rather have specific things to do, meaning specific outfits. Luckily it didn’t take me too long to pack. Hopefully I don’t forget anything!

I was really excited for dinner tonight. I’d had all the ingredients needed to make Chicken Fajitas with Corn & Bean Salad since last week, but ended up not having time to make it. Since we needed to use up the rest of the chicken, and it was hot out tonight, chicken on the grill was the perfect solution. The Corn & Bean Salad required very little work, mostly just chopping vegetables.

Tonight’s recipes came from the Menu magazine sent out by Wegmans. I love Wegmans. I will never live someplace that doesn’t have one.

Image

I’m obsessed.

For the salad, mix vinegar (I used red wine vinegar) with sugar and microwave for about one minute. While doing that chop up all the veggies.

Image

Add the vinegar mixture with the oil and corn. Then mix in the rest of the ingredients. 

Image

 

That’s it! Super easy!

Image

 

Corn & Bean Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cup corn
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 jalapenos, diced
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can black eyed peas

Directions:

Mix vinegar and sugar, microwave about one minute. Add corn and oil to vinegar mixture. Add the rest of the ingredients. Salt to taste.

I didn’t take any pictures of the process of the Chicken Fajitas because there wasn’t much to it. Here is the finished product.

Image

Image

 

Chicken Fajita Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • Lemon Juice
  • Cilantro
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Cajun Seasoning
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • Fajita shells
  • Sour Cream
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Directions:

Marinate the chicken in lemon juice, cilantro, garlic and onion powder, and Cajun seasoning. Grill chicken. While chicken is grilling, saute peppers and onions. Cut chicken into strips and assemble fajitas.

Easy, quick, and semi-healthy dinner!

I won’t be cooking while in Chicago, but hopefully I will have some delicious meals to share with you!

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Packing & Fajitas

  1. Oooh your dinner looks delicious! What would the family do without you?! Also, I don’t know what I’m going to do without Wegmans when I’m abroad. Might starve. Have fun in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

