Garlic-Apple Pork Roast

Tonight’s dinner recipe comes from Taste of Home: Casseroles, Slow Cooker, & Soups. Sometimes I’m not crazy about using the Crock Pot, but its just so convenient. I still haven’t got my sleeping patterns back on track since Chicago so it was nice to throw everything together this morning and not have to worry about dinner when I got home from work.

There are no pictures of the process of the pork because it was too easy (and I was already running late for work).

Garlic-Apple Pork Roast Recipe:

  • 1 boneless whole pork loin roast (3 lbs)
  • 1 12oz jar of apple jelly
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp parsley
  • salt & pepper

Directions:

Put the pork into the crock pot. In a bowl, combine jelly, water and garlic. Pour jelly mixture over pork. Sprinkle with parley, salt and pepper. Cook on low for 8 hours. 

Image

 

There are usually a lot of juices left over when using a crock pot, so I decided to make gravy with them. First, I ladled out the juices into a separator to get rid of the fat. Surprising, there wasn’t that much.

Image

 

Next, mix 2 cups cold water with 2 heaping tablespoons of flour. Shake well to get out any clumps.

Image

 

Heat the drippings and slowly add the flour water. Stir constantly, until thickened.

Image

 

It tasted a little too sweet because of the apple jelly, so I also added two beef bouillon cubes for flavor. Then it was perfect.

Image

 

I served the pork with roasted red potatoes and broccoli. 

ImageImage

 

Tonight’s dinner was so simple! Even the prep in the morning only took about 5 minutes. I will definitely make this again sometime I know I will be too busy at night to prepare dinner.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

