Black and Red Bean Casserole

I’ve been slacking. I’ve been working. I worked 12 hours both Friday and Saturday so I’ve been exhausted. And I’ve been very busy, but its a good busy. Last week I made Black & Red Bean Casserole with Lime & Cilantro Cream and Guacamole. Basically, I made chili. I had no idea how this ‘Casserole’ was suppose to come out because the recipe just ends without telling you how to eat it. But I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome. This recipe comes from ‘The New Vegetarian Cookbook’ by Nadine Abensur.

I started with the Lime & Cilantro Cream.

  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • handful of fresh cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp lime juice

I mixed all the ingredients together and put it in the fridge until everything else was done.

Image

Next, I started the ‘casserole’ aka chili. Heat olive oil in pan (a deep one!), then saute onion and chopped garlic cloves. (I love the smell of cooking onions and garlic!)

Image

Add salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, and carrots. Cook until al dente.

Image

Then add beans and tomato sauce. Simmer for a few minutes. Add corn and simmer for another 6-7 minutes.

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 Tbps paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 2 handfuls baby carrots, chopped
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn

Directions:

Saute onions and garlic in olive oil. Add salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne, and carrots. Cook until al dente. Add beans and tomato sauce and simmer for 5 minutes. Add corn and cook for 6-7 minutes.

While the chili was simmering, I made the guacamole. The directions said to use a food processor, which I was a little weird-ed out about, but it made the guac so fluffy!

Add avocados, water, olive oil, and garlic into food processor. Blend together.

ImageImage

Then mix in tomatoes.

Image

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 5 Tbsp water
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tomatoes, deseeded and chopped

Directions:

Blend peeled avocados, water, garlic, and olive oil in food processor. Transfer to bowl and mix in tomato. Salt and pepper to taste.

I had left over fajita shells from when I made chicken fajitas, so I made them into chips. I cut each shell into six pieces. Then, spread them onto baking sheets. Sprinkle olive oil and seasoned salt. Bake for 15 minutes, turning halfway through, at 350.

Image

Serve the chili with lime & cilantro cream ontop and guacamole with chips on the side.

Image

This cookbook actually gave directions on how to make your own tomato sauce. Next time, I want to try to make my own instead of using tomato sauce in a can. Also, I would add more corn and less carrots (but I’m not a big fan of carrots).

The guacamole came out great! I really liked the texture that came from using the food processor. I will definitely be using this method to make guacamole again.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

