Fancy Sandwiches

Its still too hot. I think Mother Nature is messing with us. Its either rainy and miserable or 90 degrees and miserable. Where is real summer??

I work outside and when I get home from work the last thing I want to do is stand in front of a stove. I’ve been struggling to think up ‘hot weather dinners’. What I came up with was sandwiches. Now you may be thinking that this is cheating, sandwiches are for lunch and they aren’t a real dinner meal. Well, you are wrong. You would be surprised at what you can make with a nice loaf and bread and some extra sandwich toppings.

Here is what I used on our sandwiches:

  • Soft Italian bread with seeds
  • Rosemary ham
  • Turkey
  • Lacey Swiss Cheese
  • Tomatoes
  • Baby Spinach
  • Mayo

Assemble the sandwich with whatever toppings you like! Whenever I made sandwiches for dinner, I buy cheese that we wouldn’t normally eat. One of my favorites is Jalapeno and Cayenne Pepper Deli Cheese from Wegmans. I couldn’t find it this time so I got Lacey Swiss instead. Instead of using regular iceberg lettuce, we used baby spinach. Get creative! If you use mayo everyday, use pesto or Italian dressing. The most important part of the sandwich when eating is for dinner though is the bread! Don’t use white bread, get something fancy!

Image

 

 

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

