Taco Pizza

When I lived in Syracuse, we had tacos probably once a week. It was the go to dinner – quick and easy. Since I moved back home, I haven’t had tacos that much. The other day, while on Pinterest, I found a taco pizza. This seemed like a great idea! If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know that I love pizza. I was so excited about trying out a new kind!

For the crust of the pizza, I used Pillsbury Crescent Seamless Dough Sheet. As much as I love Wegmans, I am not a fan of their pizza dough. I only bought one container of the Pillsbury dough, but definitely could have used two. Spread the dough onto a greased cookie sheet and preheat the oven to 400 (I did 350 and it didn’t cook like I wanted it to).

Image At this point, I would recommend baking the dough plain, at least halfway through. I did not do this and my dough wasn’t as crispy in the middle. I think baking it partially first would fix this.

Next, cook your meat. I used ground turkey since I do not eat beef. But you could use ground beef or ground chicken. In the end, it all will taste the same.

Image

I just discovered this kitchen tool and am now obsessed!

Once the meat is cooked through, drain any liquid and add the taco seasoning. Simmer the meat and seasoning until its well incorporated. While the meat is simmering, chop red onions, black olives, lettuce and tomato.

Image

In a microwave safe dish, heat re-fried beans (~30 seconds). Spread them into your dough. My mom doesn’t like beans, so I only put it on half.

Image

Top with meat, then cheese, olives, and onions. Bake for about 20 minutes, until crust is golden and cheese is melted.

ImageImage

Top with lettuce, tomatoes (I was out, but it needs them), fresh cilantro and red pepper flakes.

Image

Serve with sour cream!

Image

My whole family was very happy about the outcome of this pizza. Other than the mishap with the dough not being as cooked as I would have liked, this was perfect. It had just the right spice, different textures, and it was delicious. Next time I make this (and I will make this again) I will definitely cook the dough first, and I think I will add jalapenos.

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 containers Pillsbury Crescent Seamless Dough Sheet
  • 1 package ground turkey
  • Olive oil
  • Taco Seasoning
  • 1 Can Re-Fried Beans
  • 2 cups Mexican Cheese Blend
  • 1/2 Red Onion, chopped
  • 1/2 Can Black Olives
  • 1 Tomato, chopped
  • Handful of chopped Lettuce
  • Fresh Cilantro
  • Red Pepper Flakes

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400. Bake dough about 5-10 minutes, more than halfway cooked. Heat pan with olive oil, then cook turkey. Drain any liquid and mix in taco seasoning. Simmer until incorporated. In microwave safe dish, heat re-fried beans, about 30 seconds. Spread beans onto dough. Spread ground turkey on top of beans. Coat with cheese and sprinkle on onions and black olives. Bake about 10 minutes, or until dough is golden and cheese is melted. Top with tomatoes, lettuce, cilantro, and red pepper flakes. Serve with sour cream.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

