Harborfest & Pasta with Pepper Sauce

This past weekend was Harborfest in Oswego. For the people who live there, its basically their summer carnival. For the college kids, its an excuse to come up during the summer and drink for the weekend. I have been going to Harborfest since I started college but I wasn’t sure if I was going this year. Most of my people weren’t going to be there and I could only go for one night since I had work. This worked out pretty good though. I got to go for Saturday night which is when they do the fireworks and I’m obsessed with fireworks.

ImageImageImageImageImage

I know I’m getting old because I came prepared with a raincoat. This turned out to be a great idea because it did rain. Also I can’t handle more than one night in Oswego. Growing up is no fun. But it was a fun ‘weekend’ and I got to see some people I haven’t seen in forever. I hope I always find excuses to visit Oswego (although I doubt I wouldn’t have some excuse!).

Last week I planned on making this pasta dish but it never happen. My house is completely out of food and seriously needs to grocery shop so it worked out that I didn’t have time last week. I had everything I needed to make it tonight!

As I’ve said before, Sandra Lee’s Semi Homemade is one of my favorite cookbooks. The meals are ridiculously easy and delicious and this was no exception. To night’s Orecchiette with Sweet Red Pepper Sauce comes from Sandra Lee’s Semi Homemade 20 Minute Meals 2.

First, boil the pasta. Orecchiette was significantly more expensive then the other pastas so I just used regular shells.

Image

Chop one red onion and saute it in olive oil. It looks like a lot of onion, but trust me, just use the whole thing. Do yourself a favor and cook the onions in a pot instead of a big skillet. I knew not to use the skillet but did anyway and it just wasn’t big enough.

ImageImage

Add roasted red peppers, tomatoes, and Italian seasoning. Simmer for about 10 minutes. The directions called for a can of red peppers but I couldn’t find that so I used frozen ones instead. Just warm them before you add them to the onions.

Image

Then add the cooked pasta and coat with the sauce.

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 box shells
  • olive oil
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • ~15 oz roasted red pepper, chopped
  • 1 can (~15 oz) petite cut tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package. Over medium heat, saute onions in olive oil. Add roasted red peppers, tomatoes, and Italian seasoning. Simmer for about 10 minutes. Add cooked pasta and toss to coat. Serve sprinkled with Parmesan cheese.

Image

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

