Wegmans & Stir Fry

I love Wegmans. I know its just a grocery store, but in my opinion, its the best grocery store. When I moved to college I was so sad that I had to figure out how to grocery shop at some place other than Wegmans. Luckily I started teaching near Syracuse and had plenty of new Wegmans to explore.

What do I love so much about this place you may ask. Well let me tell you about just one reason why I love this place. I just discovered that they have their own app! Seriously, my OCD got so happy when I discovered this.

photo

The first thing I love about this app is that you can put your shopping list right into it. Then it organizes it by row, in the right order. So i you start and one end of the store and work your way to the other end there is no way you can miss any item on your list. You check them off as you go and can easily see if you’ve missed something.

The next  best thing about this app is that is has recipes in it. You can look through and use filters to find things that you want to cook. That is where tonight’s recipe came from. I used a ‘chicken’ and ‘entree’ filter and found this Chicken & Veggie Stir Fry with Garlic Simmer Sauce.

DSC01900

 From there you can simply click ‘Add Ingredients to List’ and everything you need for that meal will be added to your shopping list. Seriously, this is the easiest thing ever.

DSC01901

The recipes also give you the total time to prepare, how many it will serve, nutritional facts, and reviews.  When I was shopping for the ingredients for this meal, the women who works at Wegmans recommended using Mushroom Simmer Sauce instead of the Garlic Simmer Sauce. Most of the reviews said it was lacking a little in flavor, so I got the mushrooms instead.

DSC01902

But my most favorite thing about Wegmans is probably their prepared food section. (I think this had nothing to do with the app!) Dinner tonight was the easiest because I bought a bag of Cleaned and Cut Stir Fry Veggies, Simmer Sauce, and individually packed chicken. All I had to do was quick cut and cook a few pieces of chicken and open the bag of veggies and cook them. Wegmans making cooking so easy and convenient. My next recipe I plan on making from them is chicken tacos using a rotisserie chicken (so I won’t even have to worry about cooking the chicken!). Seriously, they are so smart.

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 3 chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 1 package stir fry veggies
  • 1 container mushroom simmer sauce
  • rice

Directions:

Cook chicken in olive oil in a large skillet. Remove chicken and cook veggies in the same skillet (add more olive oil). Add the chicken and the simmer sauce. Cook until incorporated and heated through. Serve over rice. (I told you, easiest dinner ever.)

DSC01903

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

