Epiphany & Pulled Pork Grilled Beer Cheese

Tonight I had an epiphany. Maybe I’ve always known this but have never put two and two together. I think the reason why I like to cook is because I feel like it can make people feel better. Whenever someone is sad/upset/worried/angry/etc. the first thing I think of to make things better is to offer food. You had a bad day? Let me make you brownies. I realized this when talking to my mom tonight. We had some bad news in the family and the first thing I did was pour some wine and got to work on the food. I always want to make people feel better and one way I attempt to do that is to feed them. I really do think this is something that I’ve always been doing but I definitely had that ‘ah ha’ moment tonight.

Tonight’s dinner is grilled cheese. But not your plan ol’ grilled cheese. Its made with beer cheese. And pulled pork is added. And its made on sour dough bread. Its probably the best grilled cheese you’ll ever eat.

This was not the first time I made these delicious sandwiches. I found the original recipe on Pinterest from Sweet Tooth Love but when I tried to find it again the link didn’t work. So I searched for a beer cheese recipe and found this one from Williams-Sonoma. Honestly, I think these ones came out better than the first time!

ImageImageImageImageImage

Beer Cheese Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsp flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup beer (I used Saranac Pale Ale)
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Cheese (I used ~2 handfuls shredded cheddar, ~6 slices American)

Directions:

Make a roux by melting the butter, then whisking in the flour. It should form a thick paste. Then add the milk and beer. Whisk until it starts to simmer. Then add the mustard and Worcestershire. When it starts to thicken, whisk in the cheeses. I used a mixture of cheddar and American (use whatever kind you like!). Add cheese to taste. Keep warm.

I did not do a good job of taking pictures this time because I was so excited to eat it! I kept forgetting to pause to take pictures!

ImageImage

Grilled Cheese Ingredients:

  • Beer Cheese
  • Pulled Pork (I bought Wegmans pre-made pulled pork)
  • Sour dough bread (or something other fancy bread)
  • Butter

Directions:

Slice bread to desired thickness. Butter one side of the bread, then place buttered side down into a warm/hot skillet. Add the pork. Top with the cheese. Butter another piece of bread and place butter side up on-top of sandwich. Flip when the first side is golden brown.

Image

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

