PGA & Stuffed Turkey Burgers

Last week the PGA was here in Rochester, so as I mentioned in an earlier post, I volunteered to work there. In exchange, I got to attend the PGA at anytime. I’m not that into golf, but the whole experience overall was pretty exciting.

Image

I worked there last Wednesday and Friday. Basically I stood at the front entrance, said ‘Hello!’ and ‘Welcome!’ to those coming in and ‘Goodbye!’ ‘Have a good day!’ to those leaving. Very easy, plus I almost got a tan!

Image

I wasn’t sure if I was going to take advantage of having full access to the PGA, but when my brother said he had a pass for Sunday, the final day, I invited myself to tag along. And I am glad I did!

Image

Again, I’m not that into golf but I think its pretty cool that I can say I went to the 95th PGA. Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson walked right in front of me! It was definitely the closest I have an probably will every be to a celebrity.

Image

Plus Sunday was a perfect day! The sun was shining, the sky was a beautiful blue with a few puffy white clouds, and there was a nice breeze. It was the best temperature too, not too hot, not too cold. Picture perfect!

Image

The people watching was pretty extraordinary too! You should see some of these golf outfits! My personal favorite was these pants that were white on one side, red one the other, with the opposite colored maple leaf. (Go Canada!)

Image

 

Overall, I had a great time, both volunteering and being a spectator. If I ever get an opportunity to do something like this again, I will sign up in a heartbeat!

Now onto the food! Tonight for dinner I made Stuffed Turkey Burgers. I love Turkey Burgers. I frequently order them when out to eat and have made a few different kinds. I found this recipe from Sandy’s Kitchen on Pinterest. I’ve made them twice now and my brother was actually about dinner tonight. He said ‘Oh you’ve made these before I liked these!’ He hardly ever likes my food.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 2 tsp A1 steak sauce
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 4 Laughing Cow cheese wedges

Directions:

Combine the ground turkey, A1 sauce, and garlic powder. Get dirty and use your hands! Its the best way to mix it. Flatten in down to the bottom of your bowl, then divide it into four equal sections using your fingers. (Thanks Rachael Ray!) Heat a medium skillet with olive oil. Cut each wedge into two equal pieces. Take 1/4 of the turkey, flatten in out, put the cheese in the middle, then fold over the turkey so its covering all the cheese. By cutting the cheese in half your burgers will be wider and flatter. The first time I made these they were way to fat. Cook the burgers for about 5 minutes per side. Serve on a bun with mayo.

Image

 

 

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

