Jalapeno Popper Chicken

This past week has been a great week at work. Week’s like this make me remember why I love my job, the people I work with, and what I get to do everyday. Image

First up this week was Coast Guard inspection. Every year, the Coast Guard comes to check out the boat, make sure we have everything required on board, and run drills like man overboard. I volunteered to be the person to save the man overboard this year. I have practiced it a million times and even help design the latter that we used, but I was so nervous! Before the Coast Guard came, we ran through it one time just to make sure everyone knew what they were doing. I felt so much better after and was ready to rescue Randy (the dummy that the Coast Guard brings)! The drill went pretty well and we passed inspection!

Image

Then we had a private charter to deal with. This group had come two weeks before, and during set-up the whole crew got into a disagreement. It was a mess and we were all nervous about how things would go this time. Luckily, everything went as good as we could have asked for! Things ran much more smoothly since we knew what to expect and everyone left happy! Two down, one more challenge to go!

Image

Finally this week we had a big, top-secret charter. Head people from the Canal Corporation were coming on board to check out the canal. We were all nervous about this because we knew we had to impress then. The cruise seemed to go very good though! We had perfect weather, more than enough food, and showed off our boat handling skills. All in all, the whole trip was a success!

Image

After such a great week, I was excited to have a weekend day off. I got to shop with my mom today and not have to worry about running off to work later. My brother had friends over when we got home, so I decided to cook for everyone!

Image

I had planned to make this chicken last week, but never got around to it. That worked about perfect, though, because I had all the ingredients needed to feed 6 people! I found this Jalapeno Popper Chicken recipe on Pinterest and ended up following Sunny Side Up‘s recipe the closest. (I basically doubled it!)

Image

Ingredients:

  • 6 chicken breasts
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3 jalapeno peppers, 1 cayenne pepper, chopped
  • olive oil
  • 1 1/4 cup Panko
  • 1 1/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 4 tsp taco seasoning
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Over medium-high heat, cook peppers in olive oil. Once peppers are soft, remove from heat and add cream cheese and cheddar cheese. In a small dish, whisk eggs. On a large plate, combine panko, bread crumbs, taco seasoning, parsley, and salt. Arrange everything in order – chicken, cheese mixture, eggs, bread crumbs/panko mixture, prepared cookie sheet. Cut a small slit into each chicken breast to create a pocket. Stuff chicken with cheese mixture, dredge in egg, roll in bread crumbs/panko, then place on baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes or until cooked through.

I had a lot of bread crumb/panko left over, so next time I might use a little less. Since I was combining to two ingredients (mainly because I didn’t have enough panko), I wanted to make sure I had enough for all the chicken. I had a little cheese mixture left over too, so next time I would stuff the chicken a little more. I ended up using toothpicks to secure the chicken before I dredged it in egg.

This is probably my favorite chicken recipe that I have made so far! Overall, I’d say this was a very successful week!

Happy Cooking!!

One thought on “Jalapeno Popper Chicken

Leave a Reply

