Allergies & Guacamole Poppers

My allergies have been crazy this year. I have seasonal allergies and like clockwork they pop up every May and September. Its annoying, but I’m used to it. This year, though, they have decided to come and go all spring/summer. I blame Mother Nature for this one. The weather has been so bipolar this year that I think my allergies are just following suit. Luckily I feel okay for the most part, but the constant sneezing and itchy eyes are driving my crazy!!

Image

Okay enough ranting for one post. Tonight’s recipe of Bacon Wrapped Guacomole Poppers was also found on Pinterest and it comes from Paradise Grove Avocados. I originally made these for St. Patrick’s Day because they have lots of green!

Image

Ingredients:

  • 10 jalapenos, stemmed and seeded
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 avocado
  • lime juice
  • salt
  • 10 pieces o bacon, cut in half

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425. Cut jalapenos in half and remove seeds and ribs (I think they’re calling ribs anyway). Mash together cream cheese and avocado. Add lime juice and salt to taste. Spoon mixture onto jalapeno halves. Wrap with half a piece of bacon. Bake for 20 minutes of until the bacon is cooked. Let sit on paper towel before serving to remove any extra grease.

Although everyone loved these, the bacon was a little too under cooked for me. I prefer my bacon extra crispy. So the only thing I would change is cooking the bacon a little before wrapping it around the jalapenos. This way they can cook for longer without burning the jalapenos. The avocado/cream cheese mixture was the perfect way to cool them down a little!

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

