Pasta with Veggies in Garlic Sauce

I was shopping at Kohls the other day (I love Kohls) and came across this cookbook:

Image

 

Taste of Home? Love it. The Busy Family? That’s us. Only $5? Yes, please. All $5 goes to children’s charity? Even better. I was sold.

Image

 

And I am so glad that I bought it. First off, the organization in this cookbook is exactly how I like it. Its broken up by – Beef, Pork, Poultry, Seafood, Meatless, Sides & Salads, and Desserts. Its my favorite way to set up a cookbook. I like to plan at least one pork, one chicken, and one meatless meal per week. This setup makes it quick and easy to find which time of meal I want.

Image

 

Within each category, its broken up by 10 minutes, 20 minutes, and 30+ minutes. Again, very helpful! If I know I am working late one night I can easily choose a quick meal for that night. On a night where I know I have more time, I can choose a meal that might take a little longer.

Image

 

Plus, even the 30+ minute meals are easy to make! Which I love. Since I am still kind of learning how to cook, I like meals that aren’t too complicated. If the ingredient list is too long, I won’t make it. No matter how good it looks.

Image

 

But the best part of all is what all the proceeds from this cookbook go to charity. I’m not a big philanthropist. I wish I could say I was. But this purchase was a no brainer. For only $5 I got an awesome cookbook and got to do so good. Way to go Kohls! (I actually sound like I am in love with this thing.)

Image

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 box penne
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 15oz can garbanzo beans
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 package baby spinach
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cook pasta. At the same time, saute garlic and red pepper flakes in olive oil in a large skillet. Add garbanzo beans and tomatoes, cook for another few minutes. Add spinach and salt, cook until spinach is wilted. Drain pasta and add to skillet. Toss with a little more olive oil. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Next time, I would use two bags of spinach. But I love spinach!

Image

 

 

Happy Cooking!!

One thought on “Pasta with Veggies in Garlic Sauce

Leave a Reply

