Blackberry Thyme Chicken

This recipe also comes from Taste of Home: The Busy Family Cookbook (aka my new love). The original recipe is actually Raspberry Thyme Chicken, but I had extra blackberry preserves so decided to substitute.

Image

My brother called on his way home from work to ask if I would have enough for his two friends to come over for dinner. First, I was impressed that he thought to call ahead and ask. Usually they just show up and I feel bad when I don’t have enough.

Image

Second, I love cooking for people that aren’t my family. Although my family will tell me if they think something needs to be changed in a recipe, they have never come right out and said they hated something. My brother’s friends don’t tell me they hate my food either, but they always go out of their way to tell me how good it is. That means I must be doing something right.

Image

So long story short, I had extra guests for dinner last night. I’d rather cook for more people anyway, I think its much easier then only cooking for one. I really should start inviting more people over for dinner.

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup red onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • thyme
  • salt
  • 5 chicken breasts
  • 3 cup seedless blackberry preserves
  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Image

Directions:

In a large skillet, sauté onions in olive oil. Sprinkle chicken with thyme and salt. When onions are tender, add chicken to skillet. Cook about 5 minutes per side. Remove chicken and wrap with tin foil to keep warm. In the same skillet, over medium-low heat, add preserves, balsamic vinegar, and a pinch more of salt. Cook until preserves are melted. Add chicken and juices back into the pan and coat with sauce. Make sure chicken is still heated through before serving.

Image

Image

 

 

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

