Kingston & Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Image

 

This past week I went to Kingston, Ontario for a night. I’ve never been there before but have hear a lot of the captains at work talk about it. A few of my co-workers mentioned they had gone there too, but no one could remember specifics (thanks a lot guys!).

Image

 

One thing we did hear though was to take a ferry over to Kingston. So we took the ferry! It added a little bit of travel time, but I think it was worth it. Everyone is always in a hurry to get nowhere, so it was nice to take some time to get where we were going. I would recommend traveling this route, at least once. You get on the first ferry in Cape Vincent and take it over to Wolfe Island. From Wolfe Island you take another ferry to Kingston. We missed the ferry at Kingston so ended up having time to kill. I thought there would be more to do on the island but we found a small pond and had a picnic. It was a beautiful day so it was perfect for it!

Image

 

Kingston was a smaller city than I thought it would be, but I really liked it. It had the city feel without being so big that you got lost. I think I would like to live in a city like that. The hotel was right on the water and again, since the weather was perfect it was beautiful!

Image

 

Like all Canadian cities, Kingston has a fort. They have ‘Fort Fright’ during the Halloween season and the fort is set up basically like a haunted house. I do not like haunted houses. I do not like scary movies. I do not like ghosts and zombies and whatever else there is. I don’t care if its just people dressed up and it isn’t real, I don’t like it. So I was less than thrilled to go to this fort. 

Image

 

I survived the fort, barely. It was scary. There were creepy zombies following me and screaming and making weird noises. Even typing this I’m getting goosebumps. Ugh. 

Image

 

But I still had a great time in Kingston. I would recommend going there. Its pretty close, easy to get to, and a perfect sized city. 

For the trip there, I obviously had to bake something for the car. Since its fall, I knew I wanted to make pumpkin something. I found this recipe on Pinterest and it comes from Dreamy Desserts. I experimented with the size of the cookies. The ones pictures above are the small ones and I made some twice as big. Make them big! They look like they are waaaaay too big, but do it anyway.

Image

 

Ingredients for Whoopie Pies:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 – 15 oz can pumpkin
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves

Ingredients for Cream Cheese Filling:

  • 1 – 8 oz package cream cheese
  • 1 stick butter
  • powdered sugar
  • a cap-full of vanilla
  • cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat together sugars, oil and pumpkin. Add eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, sift together the dry ingredients. Combine dry ingredients into wet ingredients. Put batter into a pastry bag or a ziploc bag with a slit cut in the cover. Starting in the middle, and working outward, make cookies about 2 inches in diameter. Bake for about 11 minutes.

In another bowl, beat together the filling ingredients. Add powdered sugar to desired thickness. Add cinnamon to taste. When cookies are cooled, spread filling onto the bottom of one. Then place another cookies on top. Refrigerate.

 

Image

 

 

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

