Weekend Adventures & Spinach-Chicken Burgers

This past weekend I went to Cedar Point for the first time! And on the way home, we stopped in Cleveland to explore the city. I’ve seriously been enjoying life lately. How did I get so lucky to get to travel around this frequently?? Because of it, my blog is suffering and while I am sorry for that, I’d rather be travelling so I have something to write about other than food! But don’t worry, the food part isn’t going anywhere.

Image

 

To be honest, I was a little scared to go to Cedar Point. It has some crazy roller coasters that are in the top coasters in the whole world. I’m not sure how I feel about roller coasters. I know I don’t hate them but I also don’t think I like them. Going to a place that has top rated roller coasters when you don’t love roller coasters seems like a crazy thing to do, if you ask me. But I did it. The lines were crazy long, we waited for over 2 hours in 2 different lines, but overall I’d say it was worth it. I conquered world-rated coasters and left all of them laughing. The weather was perfect. And I only got scared by one zombie. It was a great day and I’m really glad that I did it.

Image

Next up was Cleveland and I was presently surprised. I had no expectations about the city but I am so happy we stopped there. The city is beautiful, lots of modern buildings with smaller, older buildings tucked in between. The city was fairly clean. We wandered near one of their stadiums and the Browns happened to be playing there that day. The stadium is right on Lake Erie and it was so pretty! I definitely want to go back and stay there for a night.

Image

Onto the food! When I was on Long Island for July 4th, my friend’s mom gave her a new cookbook and I stole this recipe from it! Tonight’s Spinach-Chicken Burgers come from Cooking Light – fresh food fast 24/7.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 3/4 bag baby spinach
  • 2 Tbsp rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • olive oil
  • hamburger buns

Directions:

Saute spinach on stove top until wilted. Combine chicken, spinach, oats, salt and pepper. Divide into four equal parts and create four patties. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Cook patties in skillet for about five minutes on each side, until they are cooked through. 

The directions included a recipe for sun-dried tomato aioli. I didn’t have the ingredients to make it, but I did have roasted red pepper hummus, so I put that on the burgers and it was delicious! It also called for frozen spinach, but I hate working with frozen spinach so I also saute my own. Feel free to use a box of frozen spinach instead though. I also added swiss cheese to the burgers. (I love cheese!)

Image

 

 

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

