Skiing & Turkey w. Portobello Sauce

People will probably think I’m crazy for saying this but I actually love winters in Upstate New York! For the most part, winters here are beautiful. I love the fluffy snow falling. I love how pretty everything looks when covered in snow. I know there are not so pretty parts about winter too, but I try to ignore those. 

Image

One of the main reasons I love winter is because I am a skier. I think I learned to ski when I was 10, but I’ve been doing it for so long I can’t remember a winter before skiing. I joined my schools ski club and got to take lessons at a local mountain by doing that. Thanks Mom and Dad for signing me up for that! 

Image

I didn’t get a chance to ski at all last winter, so I’ve been begging my friend to go with me since we got our first snow fall this year. We finally went this past weekend. Everything that night was perfect, except for the fact that it was about 10 degrees! I prefer night skiing, because that’s how I learned, so we went around 4 pm. It wasn’t bad to start out, but it got cold, fast. We took a few breaks to warm our toes, but other than that it was a great night. There was a light snow, which is my favorite! I love how pretty the snow looks falling against the lights when the sky is really dark. Hopefully we’re going again this weekend. I seriously wish I could be out on the mountain every day.

Image

Today’s recipe comes from Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade 20-Minute Meals  2. I’ve said this before and I will say it a million more times, I love Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade. Her recipes are simple, yet delicious. They are easy to follow and do not have too many ingredients. I’ve made this Turkey with Portobello Sauce a few times. I would make it more often, but my mom doesn’t like mushrooms and they’re a big part of this dish. Luckily for me, she doesn’t mind eating around them when she was to.

Image

Image

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 lb turkey cutlets
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 8oz package pre-sliced baby portobello mushrooms
  • 1/2 red wine
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 packet turkey gravy mix

Directions:

Season both sides of the turkey cutlets with garlic salt, pepper, and thyme. Cook in a skillet, with olive oil over, medium high heat for about 2-3 minutes per side. Remove turkey and set aside. (I put mine on a plate covered with tin foil to keep them semi-warm.) In the same skillet, melt butter. Saute mushrooms in melted butter for about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and carefully add the wine. (The first time I made this I substituted extra chicken broth because I didn’t have wine, don’t do that. It makes it too salty!) Return to heat and deglaze by scrapping the bits from the bottom. Add chicken broth and gravy mix, then bring to a boil. Add the cooked turkey cutlets along with any juices from the plate. Reduce heat and simmer for about 5 minutes. Serve turkey with mushroom sauce drizzled ontop.

Image

 

Happy Cooking!!

 

3 thoughts on “Skiing & Turkey w. Portobello Sauce

Leave a Reply

