Idaho: Week One

Disclaimer: There is no food in this post. Sorry!

So last week I made the move from New York to Idaho. I made the decision to move only three weeks ago. My cousin asked if I would come out and be a nanny for her baby girl who was born in January. I thought about it for approximately one day and realized I had no reason not to. I had a vacation planned for Florida the day after I made my decision which left me with only one week to prepare, pack, and say goodbye to everyone. It was a crazy whirlwind to get here but after only one week here, I think I made the right decision.

My first week here had been good. The weather in Northern Idaho was wonderful this week! While everyone back in New York had to deal with yet another snow storm, it was sunny and mid-high 50s most of the week. (We had some rain here and there for two days, but nothing too bad.) My first day here my cousin and I took the dog and Baby Girl for a walk aka job training.

Image

My cousin only worked two days this week, so I was only on duty for those days. There was lots of snuggling, rocking, and of course some tears (she is an infant after all). 

Image

Image

I went to a boot camp class at my cousin’s gym. One thing I want to do with my spare time in Idaho is get in shape. I keep saying I’m going to make it happen, but I never do anything. Maybe the more I blog about doing it, I might actually do it. The class was hard but I made it through. My cousin also does crossfit. Saturday just happen do be ‘bring a friend to crossfit’ day so I tagged along for that too. I actually thought I was going to die, but I survived that too. I was only a little sore after each class so I think that’s a good sign.

This week, I also had an interview at Gozzer Ranch. It is beautiful there. I’m going to work there during the summer when I’m not taking care of Baby Girl. Hopefully I can meet some new people and make some friends there.

Overall, this week has been a good introduction to Idaho. I think I am going to like living here. I’m excited for some new experiences and adventures!

Leave a Reply

