All the Single Ladies

I know, I know this is suppose to be a food blog. But this is also my blog so I’m going on a rant today and it has absolutely nothing to do with food.

Today my friend posted this article on Facebook and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it. The more I think about the article’s meaning, the more it reminds me of something that was said to me last year. (More than once, I should add.)

If you read my first post, you’ll know that I started this blog after a rough break-up. I took a lot of time to myself but I also didn’t stop myself from hanging out with guys. I guess I was somewhat dating, although I use that term lightly. The thing that was the most annoying about ‘dating’ was having multiple guys say “why are you single?” or “I can’t believe you’re single!”

I can’t believe you’re single. Is that suppose to be a compliment? I think the guys that said it meant it to be a compliment. But to me, it’s just insulting. What’s so wrong with being single?

I hadn’t been single since I was 17 and still in high school. I needed to figure out who I was by myself, not being in a relationship. I needed how to learn to be independent.

And as I thought about this, I realized this is how I related that annoying comment of ‘why are you single?’ to the article above. Why do I need an excuse as to why I’m single? I don’t value myself based on my relationship status. Just because I’m not in one doesn’t mean there is something wrong with me. It doesn’t mean I’m crazy. It doesn’t make me any less of a women. Maybe I’m just not interest in anyone at this particular time.

When I’m ready to be in a relationship and find someone who I really connect with, I will be in one. Until then, I’m going to be single. Just because I can without having to explain why.

One thought on “All the Single Ladies

Leave a Reply

