Idaho: Weeks Five & Six – Seattle Trip

Week five here in Idaho was pretty uneventful. We had been planning a trip to Seattle for a few weeks so we took it easy the week before. Baby Girl is getting really good at grabbing things. We’re trying tummy time but she isn’t a fan quite yet.

Week six was definitely better. We left for Seattle on Thursday morning. I thought getting the car packed up and loaded was going to be a hassle but we got everything to fit into the car. (My cousin’s husband had to work Thursday so the girls drove to Seattle and he flew in later that night.) We left only 20 minutes behind schedule!

Before we made it to Seattle we made a small detour to IKEA. I’ve never been to one before and was beyond excited. I was definitely impressed when we got there. If you haven’t been to one before, the front of the store in a showroom so you can see the bigger pieces of furniture set up in rooms. SO SMART. I didn’t get anything because I don’t need anything, but when I eventually get my own place to live I’m going to be very sad if there isn’t an IKEA nearby.

We got into Seattle Thursday night. We stayed at the Red Lion hotel and the location was perfect. We walked around a little bit before heading to dinner.

Friday morning we were off to Pike’s Place Public Market. The market itself is beautiful. There are so many bright tulips, fruits, and vegetables everywhere! We didn’t see them throw the fish, but I think I’m okay with that. The original Starbucks is there so we attempted to go, but the line was out the door and down the block. I’m not a huge Starbucks lover so I was perfect content with going to one of the other 5 million ones. (They had at least one on every block.)

20140511-142048.jpg

20140511-142945.jpg

20140511-143043.jpg

Friday night we had tickets to go to see the Seattle Mariners play. The weather cooperated and it ended up being a beautiful night. It was a little cold but I was just happy that it wasn’t raining.

20140511-143445.jpg

20140511-143517.jpg

Saturday morning we headed to the Space Needle. Again, we got lucky with the rain. It was beautiful and sunny out.

20140511-143901.jpg

The Space Needle is only the 7th tallest building in Seattle, I was surprised to learn. The elevator to the top was a little scary, but it only lasts 45 seconds! I think Baby Girl was not impressed because she cried every time we tried to go outside. At least we got a few good pictures before we headed down.

20140511-143823.jpg

20140511-144049.jpg

We finished off our trip with lots of shopping! The shopping was great, they had all the stores within walking distance. I will say though that I am not impressed with City Target or the Forever 21 there. City Target doesn’t have shoes so that was annoying. And Forever 21 was even more unorganized then usual (which is saying a lot).

As we’re driving home I’m texting my friend about all the places we want to travel to. I’m so glad that I made the trip to Seattle. It’s a great city and I already can’t wait to go back. I also can’t wait to plan my next adventure. I definitely think the key to happiness in life is always having a trip planned!

One thought on “Idaho: Weeks Five & Six – Seattle Trip

Leave a Reply

