Idaho: Weeks Seven & Eight, Memorial Day, and 1st Birthday

1. Wait, what?! I’ve been in Idaho for 8 weeks. No way. Doesn’t feel possible. But it is. I’ve lived in Idaho for two months now. They’ve gone by fairly quickly. I think this summer is going to fly by. Which I’m both excited and not excited about.

The past two weeks have been uneventful. We’ve been attempting to get the grill to work for what seems like the past two weeks – I think it finally works now? Baby Girl started eating ‘real food’. And by that I mean rice cereal mixed in with milk. She can start trying real food anytime now – but I’m waiting for mom and dad to do that.

Other then that, not much has been going on. I start my second job next week! (Or maybe this week, they haven’t exactly decided when to start training.) I’m really excited to start though. I’m excited to meet new people. I’m excited to be busy. I’m most excited to make money for all the trips I have planned.

20140526-162101-58861892.jpg

2. Today is Memorial Day. So I want to start by saying thank you to all those who have given their lives for our country and freedom.

I have one pet peeve about Memorial Day. Today is a day to honor those who have lost their lives – not about everyone who has served. I have friends who were Afghanistan and I am so thankful that they are home, safe and healthy. I love those guys and am reminded of how thankful I am today. But today isn’t about them. They have Veterans Day and they definitely deserve that. But those fallen soldiers deserve a day all about them. So as you’re BBQing and spending the day with the people you love, remember those who we’ve lost and their families.

20140526-162749-59269651.jpg

3. Today is also this blog’s first birthday. One year ago today I created a blog that I had been talking about for months. That first post seems like a lifetime ago. Like the quote about says – day by day nothing changes, but looking back everything is different.

One year ago I couldn’t imagine that I would be living across the country, in Idaho of all places. One year ago I couldn’t imagine that I would be working with kids again. One year ago I couldn’t imagine that I would be as happy as I am. And there are so many things to look forward to in this next year.

So thank you to everyone who encouraged me to start this thing. I never thought this outlet could help me, but it has more then I realized. Here’s to hoping the next year has just as much growth, adventure, and happiness!

Leave a Reply

