Homecoming

Have you ever been away from home for an extended period of time? While moving to Idaho wasn’t my first time moving away (I went away for college and moved to Syracuse after I graduated), it was the longest amount of time I’ve ever spent not seeing my parents and my home.

When I got home last everything in my house seemed small. Or I felt bigger. It was like I was in Alice in Wonderland and I ate those cookies that made Alice a giant. My kitchen table felt smaller. My bathroom sink felt smaller. My parents have lived in this house since they were pregnant with me. It’s the only place I’ve ever called home. So to have everything seen so small was very strange.

But the weirdest thing of all about being home? I can’t remember how I slept with my pillows. I’ve always had a ton of pillows on my bed – regular pillows, a body pillow, small throw pillows, even smaller decorative pillows. And I have no idea what pillows I slept with and how I slept with them.

It’s so strange how a place I’ve lived in for almost 25 years can feel different after only being away for six months.

Regardless of the few things that are off, I’m so happy to be home.

As Andy Grammar says, “and no matter where we go, we always find our way back home.”

2 thoughts on “Homecoming

Leave a Reply

