Pork with Pineapple Salsa

Today I am going to write about how lucky I am to have great co-workers. (For the most part!) I’ve had some great co-workers since I started my job six years ago. Many have left throughout the years, but a few good ones have stayed! I’ve always known that I really liked the people that I work with, but a few events over the past few days have made me remember why. 

Image

 

Originally I was suppose to be out of town this week. When I decided to stay, my boss was very excited. She immediately gave me a few shifts to work. Then my other co-workers started giving me their shifts. We joke that I bullied them into giving me hours, but it was really nice of them to essentially give up money so I could have it. 

Image

 

Probably my favorite part about some of my co-workers are the fact that we can actually talk to each other. Sure, we make fun of each other and laugh at each other. But we know a lot of things about each other. We know about each other’s families, relationships, life drama, future plans, etc etc etc. When something great happens in my life, I can tell them and they’re happy for me. When I have a crazy confusing situation (which is most days!) I can talk to them and they help me through it. (Or just laugh at me, but that usually makes me feel better too!) I truly consider some of these people my friends, and I am very grateful that I can say that.

Image

 

So enough being mushy and onto the food. Once again, tonight’s recipe comes from Taste of Home: The Busy Family Cookbook. Even though its a 30+ minutes recipe, it was so easy. It only takes so long because the pork needs to cook. I would definitely recommend this meal if you want a nicer meal, but one that is still semi-quick and very easy.

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 3 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/3 cup sweet red pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 20 oz can pineapple tidbits

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Combine 2 Tbsp brown sugar, mustard, paprika, and ginger. Place pork on rack on a pan, and coat with half of the brown sugar mixture. Bake for 15 minutes. Top with remaining mixture and bake for another 20 minutes.

While pork is cooking, make the salsa. Drain the pineapple, reserving 1/4 cup juice. Combine one cup pineapple tidbits, with pineapple juice, red pepper, red onion, 1 Tbsp brown sugar, and red pepper flakes. Refrigerate until serving. 

Let pork rest about 5 minutes before slicing. Serve with pineapple salsa on top.

Image

 

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a comment